I have never seen so many college hosted parties than I have here in Australia. Bond Uni is very big about bringing everyone together & allowing you to meet everyone. It is also strange to me that there is a bar located on the campus as well where a bunch of students go on the weekends.

On Friday it was club sign up day at the Uni, where there was tons of food and free stuff. I signed up for the Public Speaking Club, Marketing Club, and the Volunteer Group Program. I think these clubs will keep me busy throughout the semester, and enable me to meet people/build my resume. At the sign up place they also had a booth where you could get dunked by your friends, and yup I definitely underestimated my friends' throwing abilities.

Something that I want to do here is talk with the CEO of a big marketing company, and shadow a person. Back in the states it is very difficult to plan office visits; where as here you can pop in with two cups of coffee and have a chat whenever. By interviewing the CEO I will learn first hand of the hardships and success a business goes through. It will also allow me to network and put my name out in the world. As far as shadowing I think it will be quite an experience to see the daily work of a marketer in Australia. The business world may appear to be the same, but in reality every country/city/state is run differently. The Australians are big about having a background to their story, and starting from the roots up.

This next weekend I am going to Broome, WA (Western Australia-not Washington ;)) with a friend that I met through Globalinks. I am excited to see what the other side of Australia has to offer, and just how different the scenery is. I also booked a trip to Alice Springs where a bunch of friends and I will go on a safari and sleep under the stars. Here's to the adventure of a lifetime!

Picture
DUNKED!!



Leave a Reply.