Picture
My first day of class was Monday and boy was it hectic. First off I went to the wrong building because I assumed that my business classes would be in the business college (here its called the Faculty of Business), yeah I was wrong. Instead there is a giant building dedicated to lecture classrooms, seminar classrooms, tutorial classrooms, and theatres.

Second off I never figured out how to log onto my email thus I missed the multiple announcements that my 8 AM class was cancelled..WHOOPS! I ended up only having one class for the day which was International Marketing. My professor has been teaching here since 2001, so I think it's safe to say that he knows his stuff. The class so far seems very interesting, and although it is a two hour class, the professor makes it so that you're hooked.

In Australia it is very independent learning, so it is highly recommended that whenever class is, your butt better be there and you have read the assigned chapters. My classes are set up where I have two seminars a week for some of my classes, and then a lecture and tutorial for my others. the tutorial is where you have a few people from your lecture in a class together for a better one on one learning. Bond Uni has the lowest student to teacher ratio in Australia. The course outline is different as well. For instance, back at Texas Tech you would have about four tests and a final, where as here you have a midterm, final, and a presentation. AKA I am going to be studying my butt off.

The courses that I am taking at Bond Uni are Brand and Category Management, Consumer and Buyer Behavior, International Marketing, and Fundamentals of Finance.

Something that I learned from talking with a gal that I met in my IM class was that in Australia they don't hire young people. She was telling me that she is 19 and graduates in December, but is already having a tough time with the job market. It's weird to think that in the States you can get a job anywhere with a degree regardless of a person's age.

Honey
10/6/2013 02:39:02 am

Just read your latest blog and all I can say is WOW! I am so proud of you. You are really getting the max out of this fantastic experience. Everyone here is fine just got off the phone with Mom. Take care and I will see you before you know it. Love you Honey

Reply



Leave a Reply.