So I figured I would split the Bridging Cultures Program and Orientation week into two seperate posts since I am so far behind. We got to Bond Uni Monday September 2nd. I am living in Block A (or building 11) I have my own room but share facilities with others on my floor. I have met a BUNCH of people over the past couple of days with the activities that have gone on.The first day was mainly getting ourselves familiar with the campus. A thing that I learned was carrying two fifty pound bags around this campus is one hell of a workout! Especially since I had to climb up a hill and roll my bags down a steep hill (I'm alive though!!) The campus is centered around a pond with a fountain that lights up at night and is absolutely beautiful. Once I got to my room I literally passed out and slept for 14 hours... needless to say I missed the mandatory international student meeting OOPSIES..The next day was spent meeting new people as everyone prepared for the toga party. In our orientation bag we were given a fabric and had to use our creativity to make our own toga and surprisingly mine turned out decent looking. I noticed that a lot of their music is considered our "oldies" or stuff that was popular five years ago..which isn't a problem for me since I've had mire time to master the lyrics ;) I skipped out on the second day of the orientation and figured is familiarize myself with the bus system to visit my friend over at Griffith Uni. Note to self: don't attempt at night!! I ended up going a half hour in the wrong direction then got stranded at Pacific Fair waiting for my transfer bus. After waiting for an hour I ended up just taking a cab. Here in Australia they actually sit in the front seat of the cab so that was new to me. I also found out that although your destination is 20 minutes by car, that DEFINITLEY does not include the bus. Had I not taken a cab and ridden the bus all the way to Griffith it would have taken about an hour or more.Thursday was the tight and bright party where people dressed up in wacky neon clothes and basically raved. by this night I was exhausted and ended up leaving early to crash. Today was our last orientation event, and we spent it going to Broad Beach. I met up with a lot of people from my Globalinks program and had a chill day of tanning and building sand castles. It's weird to think that school starts Monday, and that summer is just now starting here in Australia!! Back to the books I go



Leave a Reply.